College should never be three years

michiganstateApparently someone who clearly did not live it up in their college years has decided they should consider creating a 3-year college degree. Yes it makes all kinds of economic sense and stuff but I will put my foot down on what parts of my life will be affected by this recession. I would sacrifice gallons of 7-11 Big Gulps and American Eagle shopping sprees if it meant not having to cut my college life short. 

I actually did cut my college life short when I graduated in 3.5 years, thinking I was going to get a leg up on all the other entry-level accountants. That didn’t go according to plan and now I have one semester less of memories of Burgerama, dance parties, and March Madness. A decision I would not wish on my worst enemy. Regardless of the economic climate.

One response to “College should never be three years

  1. I agree with you 100%…. when I was in school, there were a lot of complaints about “elective classes” that were nothing beneficial, but a waste of money. I was one of those people as well, but looking back, I realize that it was not as much a waste, as it was an investment in more time to enjoy college for all that it is worth. The more time you can spend in school (to a point of course) the better. I took my time at 4.5 years, and wish that it could have lasted many more.

    So I say Boo to you Mr. 3 year degree, Boo to you.

Leave a Reply

