No Girls Allowed

511qbWUGOxL._SS500_I don’t follow the graphic novel trends very closely, but keep telling myself I’m going to learn more about this popular subculture. I read Persepolis this winter and loved that it was a quick but very engaging story. I was able to pull it out on the bus on my way to work and jump right back into the novel.

Susan Hughes and Willow Dawson have written and illustrated a new empowering graphic novel for women; No Girls Allowed: Tales of Daring Women Dressed Men for Love, Freedom and Adventure. Well-worth the long title. This novel illustrates the struggles of women throughout history who have had to disguise themselves as men in order to get sh*t done.

Leave a Reply

