Learn from the best humor writers

new_coverI always do my homework. Yet in the way that is the easiest and least homework-like for me. I would love to be a humor writer when I grow up, so I consume humor essays and memoirs like candy. There is a new book out that is the ice cream sundae of my humor writing studies. And Here’s the Kicker is a series of interviews and writing tips compiled by Mike Sacks of 21 humor writers on how they got to where they are. Going to have to pick this one up on my Borders trip as well. 

If you want my list of text books for humor writers (mostly females) here are some recommendations from the scholars:

Sand in My Bra – multiple female humor travel writers (dream job!)

Anything by Laurie Notaro

I was told there’d be cake – Sloane Crosby

Bitter is the New Black – Jen Lancaster (based in Chi town!)

David Sedaris (obvi)

Anyone else I should check out?

Leave a Reply

